Hub Governing Body
Domain Coordinators
Section-8 Company

Agriculture and Water Technology Development Hub

AWaDH is a research center at IIT Ropar established with support from the Department of Science and Technology (DST) and Science and Engineering Research Board (SERB) to carry out extensive research in the field of agriculture and water. 

Adding to our social responsibility, the President of India through the National Mission on Interdisciplinary Cyber-Physical Systems (NM - ICPS), Department of Science & Technology, has awarded a Technology Innovation Hub to IIT Ropar in the domain of Agriculture and Water. In order to support the activities of the Agriculture and Water Technology Development Hub (AWaDH), a section - 8 company, IIT Ropar - Technology & Innovation Foundation, has been founded. We are primarily working on (i) Water and Soil Quality Assessment Processes, (ii) Water Treatment and Management, (iii) Agriculture Automation and Information Systems, (iv) Stubble Management and Urban Farming, (v) IoT Systems, and (vi) Nuclear Instrumentation for Agriculture & Water, towards eco-friendly farming practices and to make farming more profitable for the grower.

The mission of the Hub is to develop 30 Agritech, support 35 startups/spin-off companies, train more than 1000 professionals in Cyber-Physical Systems, give more than 8000 employments through different Agritech innovations, etc. The technology developed at Hub would advance the (i) Environment, Forest and Climate, (ii) Fisheries (iii) Food Processing and Public Distribution, (iv) Rural and Women Empowerment by Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, (v) Land Resources, (vi) Electronics and Information Technology, (vii) Fertilizers, to name a few.

Hub Governing Board


team img

Prof. Rajeev Ahuja

Director, IIT Ropar

Phone: +91-1881-231006

Hub Coordinator

Dr. Pushpendra P. Singh

Assistant Professor, IIT Ropar

Industry Members

Mr. Jitin Talwar

Founder and Member of the Talwar Advocates – Chandigarh

Mr. G. S. V. Umakishore

Director, Samsung 5G Technology Research Division, Bangalore

Mr. Jigar Halani

Director-Solution Architect & Engineering, Nvidia

Academic Members

Dr. Pushpendra P. Singh

Department of Physics, IIT Ropar, Member Secretary

Prof. Dheeraj Sanghi

Director – PEC University Chandigarh, Member

Prof. Deepak Kashyap

Department of Civil Engineering, IIT Ropar, Member

Dean ICSR, IIT Ropar

Industrial Consultancy, Sponsored Research and Industry Interaction, Member

Dean IR, IIT Ropar

International Relations, Member

Domain Coordinators

team img

Dr. Mukesh Saini

Informations Systems and Agriculture Automation

team img

Dr. Neeraj Goel

Informations Systems and Agriculture Automation

team img

Dr. Suman Kumar

IoT Systems

team img

Dr. Neekanth Nirmalkar

Water Treatment and Management

team img

Dr. L. Vijay Anand

Water and Soil Quality Assessment Processes

team img

Dr. Prabir Sarkar

Stubble Management Systems and Urban Farming

team img

Dr. Pushpendra P. Singh

Nuclear Applications in Agriculture & Wate

Section 8 Company

Name: IIT Ropar - Technology and Innovation Foundation

Board of Directors

Prof. Rajeev Ahuja (Director, IIT Ropar)

Prof. Harpreet Singh

Dr. Pushpendra P. Singh